Home » Academics » Schools and Faculties


SDD-UBIDS has introduced new Schools/Faculties by realigning programmes under the appropriate schools. Our programmes’ accreditation has been renewed by the erstwhile National Accreditation Board. Many others including Law, ICT and Hospitality and Tourism has been prepared and considered by the GTEC with some approved. There are eight (8) faculties and schools and twenty-eight (28) departments. These are made up of a number of teaching and research departments.

Faculty of Integrated Development Studies

Following the establishment of Faculty of Integrated Development Studies (FIDS) in 1994, it has promoted integrated approach to teaching, learning and research. The Faculty runs programmes at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

  • African and Endogenous Studies (DAES)

  • Development Studies (DDS)

  • Environment and Resource Studies (DERS)

  • Communication Studies (DCS)
Visit Site

Faculty of Planning and Land Management

The Faculty has six (6) academic Departments; they are Department of Community Development, Department of Planning, Department of Real Estate, Department of Land Management, Department of Urban Design and Infrastructure Studies, and Department of Construction Studies.

  • Department of Planning

  • Department of Community Development

  • Department of Real Estate and Land Management

  • Department of Urban Design and Infrastructure Studies

  • Department of Land Management

  • Department of Construction Studies

Visit Site

School of Education and Life-Long Learning

The School of Education and Life- Long learning became a full fledge School, after it was carved out of the Faculty of Education , university for development studies,(UDS) when Simon Diedong Dombo University of Business and Integrated Development Studies was established by an act of parliament.

  • Department of Social Science Education (DSSE)

  • Department of Business Education (DBE)

  • Department of Foundational Studies (DFS)

Visit Site

School of Business

The School of Business was established in 2013 at the Wa Campus. The School responds to pressing national needs to improve the socio-economic well-being of the poor through enhanced social programmes for educational quality improvement, business and enterprise development, and legal literacy and legislative development.

  • Department of Management Studies

  • Department of Banking and Finance
  • Department of Accounting

  • Department of Marketing Entrepreneurship

  • Department of Business Analytics and Management Information Systems

  • Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management

Visit Site

Faculty of Social Sciences And Arts

The Faculty of Social Sciences and Arts (FSSA) seeks to create space for existing departments in the Faculty of Integrated Development Studies (FIDS) to realign their programmes and academic staff. This involves moving social science and arts-oriented departments from FIDS to FSSA and creating new departments to accommodate academic staff with the relevant background.

  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Sociology and Social Work

  • Department of Geography
  • Department of History and Political Science
  • Department of Modern Languages and Diasporan Studies
  • Department of Applied Statistics
Visit Site

Faculty of Information and Communication Technology

The Faculty of Information and Communication Technology (FICT) is one of the of the newest Faculties/Schools at the Simon Diedong Dombo University of Business and & Integrate Development Studies (SDD-UBIDS, in short UBIDS), which was established by the Act of Parliament (Act 1001) in 2019; out of the University of Development Studies (UDS).

  • Department of Computer Science

  • Department of Informatics

Visit Site